The Stock Analyst

Ryan J Harris
3 min readFeb 16, 2021

--

“Analyst love reporting hype instead of reality”

What are they analyzing; may just be trends in sales on market exchanges for day to day trading and an afterthought for accessing long term value of companies’ capability to edge out their competitors. Its possibly sensationalist hype given overall when information is given to the general public, got to get those views and possible bend facts a bit. I’m sure they consider long term goals they have set and those companies’ ability to achieve the goals when buying for their own portfolio.

When an expert gives information its seems to be the hype train sensationalized information given, in their on screen or in article approach, too non-regular traders who’d rather hear or read analyst speculations. I suppose the word “analyst” in non traders heads is an indication these people have degrees in assumption of market trends, rather than make their own assessment of markets while valuing out companies’ potential. When a trader starts to place this analytics into their trading decisions they are preparing for longer term fertility within their portfolio as they take command and control of their own portfolios over a “professional”.

As an example of such, if I did listen to some so called “professionals”, as if I have no clue what I am doing and my goals, I wouldn’t have bought, at $9.80 USD, Palantir Technologies (PLTR) with the few dollars I had to gain a substantial sum of shares that fit my goals. It did and is still doing what I need it to do and the objective is to see my assessment of $145 dollars per share within 2–3 years of its public market introduction. My own work in analytics gave more reasons to buy over listening to outside analytics, with factors that did not sound right to me, aided me in a portfolio that now allows me to short other stocks, which to me shorting is more of a gamble than long term speculations so its a do at your own risk.

As I finish up here, the best way, my opinion, to trade stocks is having control over your portfolio, analyze stocks yourself , figure how the purchase of particular stocks will aid in your long term goals, and regularly assess investments to confirm they are within your goals’ margins. Now if you are a day trader looking to beat margins on a daily to make sums of money over trends within trades vs. long term potential, you may consider an analyst’s picks but its best to keep most of the portfolio long term to cover lost. In following other analyst’s words, who are hyper focused on larger sums of money supporting their efforts, you get a lot of buzz words and seeking for the next news thing to drive up purchase of particular stocks to trap people in dead stocks. This is why I’m a long term portfolio builder who purchaser highly capable companies for long term based on factors such as customer base longevity capabilities, meaning the company has to be tied to a large entity with deep pockets that gives long term contracts for at least 3–6 years, and company overhead cost, as a point for me, has to be almost a none factor, as in they can operate with less staying small enough to promote innovation and liquidity to prospect future terms.

--

--